News Alert
Cops: Shooting Leaves 1 Dead, 1 Injured in…

Spatafora Elected Fire Commish; Other Winners Named

Results from Tuesday's fire commissioner elections.

Fire commissioners were elected in several district races Tuesday.

In , (419 votes) defeated Ron Schankin (293 votes) and Bedal Saget (259 votes).

"It was hard fought," said Spatafora Wednesday. "Everything went pretty good. The guys that I was running against were pretty good guys. I had a lot of community backing."

Spatafora, a 26-year fire department veteran said there is nothing particular on his agenda when he begins his 5-year term Jan. 1. 

"I've just got to get my feet wet and learn for myself," said Spatafora.

In , Craig Lanigan (42 votes) defeated Donald Tesoriero (33 votes) for the remining three-year term seat of former Commissioner Frank Stalzer who moved.

Vincent Capobianco won in an unopposed election to replace Laurence Northocote for a 5-year term.

In the Thomas Collins won in an unopposed election for a fifth term.

A proposition to authorize Board the surplus a 1982 Pierce LTI/Tower Ladder truck for fair market value passed.

Peter Gunther won in an unopposed election for a second term in Centerport.

Mary Z December 15, 2011 at 07:16 PM
Congrats Ray! We know you will do a great job!
Diane Schaber December 15, 2011 at 10:12 PM
Congrats Ray!!!!!!!!! We knew you would do it! You are a great guy and will do a great job!!!!!!
Cecile Marie December 16, 2011 at 05:07 PM
Everybody loves Raymond ! Congrats Ray !


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »